Aoei’s Progress #3 – Modelling in MAYA

I’ve started modelling last week in Maya and I’ve encountered some problems with modelling the shoes and some of the details on the character

Screen shot 2013-06-09 at 6.06.43 PM Screen shot 2013-06-09 at 6.07.33 PM

 

Screen shot 2013-06-09 at 6.08.02 PM

Low polygon version (no details on the shoes yet)

 

This is when I tried to add details. All of this is modelled as one piece because I think that way it will be easier to rig but the cons is that it will be harder to modell everything as one piece. I tried to put in as much detail as possible (creases in the clothes, intersection between skin and cloth, etc.)

Screen shot 2013-06-09 at 7.24.29 PM

For the socks, as of now I think it is too systematic, the creases are all the same and symmetric. I will try to model it so that it is more random and natural.

Screen shot 2013-06-09 at 7.24.23 PM

 

High(er) polygon version…

When I added more edge loops it was pretty difficult to keep everything rounded because the more edge loops I added, the more sharp it became. It took me a while to move the vertexes so that it is more rounded.

Screen shot 2013-06-09 at 7.24.51 PM

Leave a Reply

